Archive for April 15th, 2009

Rupture of the gastrocnemius or soleus muscle, Part 2

So I did it again. I tore my calf muscle playing squash. Actually, this time it was the other one (right side). I always thought that when I tore my left calf and it healed, it felt stronger than the right. Maybe that explains what happened today. It was exactly the same as 2 years ago. I was looking forward, getting ready to return the ball, when it felt like someone had hit the back of my calf with a squash ball. Only  the ball was in front of my. My initial reaction was that someone entered the court behind me and threw a ball at my leg. A few seconds later I knew exactly what happened and I was done. This time at least I knew what to do. I hobbled out and drove Phil home, then myself, had Ginny find my old elastic “tube” to put on, iced my leg, and called Roslyn Physiotherapy. I have an appointment for Friday, and then probably 6 weeks off from squash. I tried walking around but it was too painful so I got some crutches. It seems I was only on them for about a week last time, so hopefully that’ll be true this time as well. I really love squash and I hope this isn’t a sign of things to come. I’m getting old and my body is breaking down. I hope I can get back to golf, too. If I can’t do that then what else is left? Bowls?


Recent Comments

びっくり on 2010 Plans
stan on Rupture of the gastrocnemius o…
Jeff Jacobsen on 2010 Plans
Sonic on What is it?
vaghela1 on What fruit is this?

Blog Stats

  • 99,322 hits
April 2009
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Pages